See this image larger
Current photo as of June 2018. I'm wearing a size XL shirt for the first time since middle school.

See this image larger
Me below the 300 pound mark for the first time in 20 plus years

See this image larger
Current weight 286, at work

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Christmas Tree
go to goodies page

Interact with APACHESTEVE
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I've been overweight my entire life, but recently had an epiphany that I control my health. I love to listen to music, read, and follow sports, and hope to learn to love exercise. I'm a computer guy for a small school district in Arkansas. Favorite sports teams include the St. Louis Cardinals, K.C. Chiefs, and the Arkansas Razorbacks. I've also spent over 35 years behind a microphone in the radio business
I'm now closer than I've ever been to my goal weight of 225, which is what I weighed my freshman year of high school. 65 to go! .

Member Since: 6/17/2012

Fitness Minutes: 24,975

My Goals:
To get to a size where I can buy clothing in any store. (I've made this one)
I want to fit into an airplane seat, ONE seat.
How about fit on a rollercoaster with my son and ride.
Get off Type 2 diabetes meds and blood (I've made this one)

My Program:
Tracking everything that I eat while concentrating not only on calorie goals but lowering bad carb intake and more lean protein.
Gradually build up to run the Cardinals Care, Stan Musial 6K race in St. Louis

Personal Information:
I was born in Carlsbad New Mexico in 1962, adopted in Los Angeles in 1964, and in 1971 parents moved to Missouri where I was raised.
I've called Arkansas home since 1985 after bouncing around radio stations as a DJ in Missouri.
Graduated college and was married in 1996 and have one Son, Robert who is 12.

Other Information:
I'm kind of an all around geek, or nerd type. I enjoy working with computers and ham radios, along with watching all flavors of Star Trek. I love Spock with an attitude in the new movie. However, I do have a bad boy side as I also enjoy playing pool and texas hold 'em poker. I love the smile on my Son when he is happy and hope I'm helping himi to grow into a good man. I'm proud of him.

Read More About APACHESTEVE - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 18)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 344.2 
Login to Leave Comment
    Hi Steve - welcome - I hope you find sparkpeople as helpful and supportive as I have - there is so much info here that the site is overwhelming...but what REALLY WORKED for me was to take it one slow step at a time and make one small change at a time. After 4.5 months I am down 47 pounds and now I fit in seats everywhere - after 20 years of being obese I can see the overweight BMI coming my way. It really can be done - and is a great feeling when you see results!!! Wish you lots of success!!! Post messages so we can share your journey with you and cheer you on!!
    3176 days ago

    Comment edited on: 6/20/2012 5:06:45 PM
  • v NARNIAROSE2003
    Hi, Steve! Welcome to Sparkpeople. I LOVE this site and it's the best thing I've found for making the lifelong change in habits that it takes to be healthy. Reach out if you need support! emoticon
    3176 days ago
Member Comments (382):  << First< Previous757677