150,000-199,999 SparkPoints 186,204
See this image larger

See this image larger
Feeding a horse so the kid can feed goats - penned together and the horse was a bully.

See this image larger
The real reason I try to run 5k's.

go to goodies page
High Five
go to goodies page
go to goodies page

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with CDCSMITH2013
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

It's time to change the text of my description. At this stage for me, it's less about physical fitness and more about my mental health. Cardio is part of that. I do notice that if I work out regularly, as much as I may hate it, I seem better able to handle the things that bounce around in my head.

I read. A lot. I enjoy learning and escaping. Reading provides both of those things. Generally, I read about 100 books a year. Often, I have 3 or more going at a time.

I also like to write. That too, is an escape for me but one I've been having more trouble maintaining. I do a fair amount of tech. writing in my day job. It sometimes makes it harder for me to break into my alternate universes. I'm trying to make writing a priority again, starting with 15 minutes a day.

Spiritually - I consider myself a non-denominational pagan.

Member Since: 1/6/2013

Fitness Minutes: 99,408

My Goals:
The newest goals (as of 01-01-19) :

Staying hydrated. I like water and I drink it, but when my mental health isn't in good shape, I tend to stop drinking it which just makes it worse.

Reading. I read pretty much every day anyway, but in an effort not to skip doing that, it's on my daily to-do list.

Writing. I let this one slack too and it is one that gives me some peace. It's easy for me to get into a spiral and let go of the things that are good for my mental well-being. I'm pushing myself to write at least 15 minutes a day.

The last goal is to find one good thing that has happened every day. It isn't always going to be something great. Some days it might just be making it to the end alive, but every day, I will find something good.

My Program:
I don't really have one. I have a notebook. It's set up with a daily agenda with my daily goals.

Personal Information:
Married for decades (saves me from updating the number.). We have 3 boys - two adults, one teenager. I'll include my "daughter" in the mix. She doesn't officially fit the title of daughter-in-law because she and my son aren't married, but they've been together for years and they are in it for the long haul. I love her too.

Other Information:
My youngest and I created a 5K team called The Rainbow Narwhals. Every group seems to have a 5K to raise money and when you get a group, you need a name. He came up with the name when he was about 5 years old. We like it. Our yearly 5K's are for a local School on Wheels group - Outrunning Homelessness (in April) and The Community Autism Resources - Hearts and Hands Walk/5K (in September). We try to do others during the season for different groups. - food allergies (the youngest and I both have epi-pen worth food allergies), Veteran's, local programs for education, environmental, to name a few.

Read More About CDCSMITH2013 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated October 29)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
Total SparkPoints: 186,204
SparkPoints Level 21
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (203):  123Next >Last >>