See this image larger
70# gone!

See this image larger
Me at my heaviest before starting Weight Watchers. Who said black is thinning???

See this image larger
Another prayer shawl that I enjoy making for others


Interact with DUCHESSDTR
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

After struggling with my weight most of my married life, losing it and gaining it back and repeating the process (a viscious cycle it seems), I've deciced, at the age of 65 (Nov., 2011) that I want to enjoy my senior years, live to see my 12 grandchildren grow older and play with the younger ones and FEEL better. I'm a multiple joint replacement woman with a bad back so sometimes my activities are limited. If I didn't think I could do my self-proclaimed "Journey to Success" for myself, I wouldn't have come here and laid all this out in front of everyone. My family is extremely supportive of me, especially my husband of 42 years. I have a lot of weight to lose but I'm setting small increments in goals so I don't get discouraged right out of the gate.

Member Since: 5/20/2011

Fitness Minutes: 300

My Goals:
I'm setting small goals in weight loss rather than one huge one. Otherwise I get discouraged before I'm even out of the gate. I keep thinking about the tortoise and the hare story. The tortoise kept his eye on the prize, head down and kept on moving...slowly, while the hare goofed off, became too self-assured and ended up losing the race. I'm setting weight goals of 20# increments. I have a long ways to go but I'll get there. I'm calling this my Journey to Success.

My Program:
I have osteoarthritis and am a multiple joint replacement recipient. Therefore, I'm limited on exercise but I do what I can. I stretch and do arm lifts and leg lifts while sitting. When my back allows, I'll get out and walk short distances and then sit for a bit before continuing on. Hopefully, as I lose weight, exercising will be come easier and a more likeable experience.

Personal Information:
I'm from IL originally and now live in MI. My BD is 11/4/46 and I've been married to the same man for 42 years. We have 3 grown children, 10 grands and 2 great grands. We live near our 2 daughters. Our son still lives in Chicago and is a Chicago police officer (worry all the time!) My favorite hobby is pen paling and I've pen paled on a regular basis since 1974. I've traveled to meet pen pals throughout the USA and other countries and have had same in my home. I'm a Christian (Catholic by faith).

Other Information:
I'm actually going to WW meetings weekly but I enjoy Spark People web site more than the WW web site so spend my time here.

My husband and I are involved with church activities and we volunteer 2 mornings a week.

"And then the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom."
--Anais Nin, Danish Dearest

Read More About DUCHESSDTR - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 24)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
This user doesn't belong to any groups
My Ticker:
 current weight: 236.2 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (21):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>