LYNCHD05
300,000-349,999 SparkPoints 317,902
SparkPoints
 
Photos
See this image larger
My Mom and I 2009. She is gone now but I love this picture of the two of us.



See this image larger
Hiking with my youngest son Kelly at Joshua Tree 2016



See this image larger
3 pounds to go!


SparkGoodies
go to goodies page
Sunshine
From:
1CRAZYDOG
go to goodies page
Flowers
From:
1CRAZYDOG
go to goodies page
Spa Visit
From:
ECONLADY
Awards

 
Interact with LYNCHD05
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


Member since 4/30/2011



I have always been interested in being healthy and exercising. I enjoy going to the gym and part of that enjoyment is being with positive, happy people. I have met so many really wonderful friends which is a bonus! These people are doing something that is just for them and that is my reason for being there also. Knowing that I am trying to keep my body healthy is important to me. i will do whatever I can and the rest is up to another power.

Update June 2020

I have an appointment with the orthopedic surgeon later this month to see what is going to happen with my knees. I am walking almost every day but I have had to decrease my steps. I will just do what I can.
Like most of you I am missing my gym. Who knows when it will be safe to go back. I have a hubby whose health is very compromised so I have to be very careful. So many challenges right now for is all.


I have always been interested in being healthy and exercising. I enjoy going to the gym and part of that enjoyment is being with positive, happy people. I have met so many really wonderful friends which is a bonus! These people are doing something that is just for them and that is my reason for being there also. Knowing that I am trying to keep my body healthy is important to me. i will do whatever I can and the rest is up to another power.

Update January, 2020

I had my hip replaced in November and the surgery was a complete success. My recovery was amazing and I was able to drive at three weeks. I have not gone back to the pool yet but that should happen next week. I want to make sure I am completely healed in order to prevent an infection. I am walking lots now but that has turned out to be a downside as my knee is starting to give me problems again. It was fine when I was not very active. I will just have to deal with this one day at a time and continue trying to keep strong with what I know is ahead of me.

Update September, 2019



Since my last update I have found out thst I need a hip replacement before I have my knee taken care of. I am not happy about this but I have no choice but to deal with it. I think going to the pool is still my best option and I am doing that three times a week. I try to walk but I can’t do as much as I would like. Dealing with life challenges makes us stronger so I will keep doing as much as I can.
The carpel is getting better thank goodness.

Update, June 2019, as I start this next challenge I am dealing with a few health issues. Not only am I in need of another knee replacement (which is not going to happen as soon as I would like) but I am also dealing with carpel tunnel in my right hand. These are challenges and if I am going to continue to succeed I have to find ways to continue being active. Giving up the classes I love has not been an easy decision but it has been the right one. I am now doing water aerobics which is much easier on my knee but still keeps me moving. I am trying to walk as much as I can but I am much slower since I am now needing s cane. So I keep telling myself that I am fortunate that this is all temporary. It’s up to me to just keep moving.

I AM A TEDDY BEAR participating in the current 5% Challenges.

As a Teddy Bear team member by goals are:

Eat 1200-1500 calories daily
Burn 1000 calories week
*I will be active and supportive in my team.
*I will log onto my team board every day and let them know how I'm doing and give them support
*I will eat a healthy diet and stay within my calories 90% of the time
* I will make sure to keep fresh fruits and veggies in my house. My diet is not specific, just healthy.
*I will exercise at least 30 minutes a day for a minimum of five days each week for the duration of the challenge (Walking, golfing, weights and other challenges from team)
*I will add my fellow teammates as friends and subscribe to their blogs
GO TEAM GO!!!!


Member Since: 4/30/2011

Fitness Minutes: 176,593

My Goals:
My goal is to maintain my weight loss within 5 pounds in order to stay within a healthy BMI. I will work out at least three times a week and aim for 6000 steps a day. I had to change my step goal as I am having knee issues which will only I,prove with the removal of my kneecap. I am not liking the thought of that too much.


My Program:
Go to the gym at least three days a week which entails strength, cardio and stretching. My favourite class is with the stability ball which focuses on strength and balance. I now do the aquasize class three times of week so I still get my cardio and strength training. My stability ball class focuses on core strength which I love. Hopefully I can keep doing this class until I get my knee fixed. No plans for that yet.
Thursday is my day to golf with the ladies.
The rest of the time I like to be erect.....not sitting too much. I plan to do more walking and will try to get in at least 7500 steps daily.
It just makes me feel much better.



Personal Information:
I presently live in Surrey, BC but was raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba. I loved the prairies but now I am enjoying living on the west coast. I found out I can enjoy the rain! We were snowbirds so spent the winters in a warmer climate. I felt very fortunate to have been able to do this. This year my hubby has had several health issues so we are going to spend the winter here in B.C. We are hoping his health will improve enough so we can consider going away next winter. I am just fine being here for the winter. BC has a relatively mild climate.
I have been married for 55 years [photos on page) and have two sons, two wonderful daughter in laws and one exceptional granddaughter. ( Grammas are allowed to brag!). Pictures of her are also in my photos.


Other Information:
I enjoy spending time with my family and friends, taking walks in new places, having friends for dinner, golfing, spending time with my best friend, who just happens to be my husband and also travelling to new places and meeting new people. i guess you could say I am a social person!
I love my life and my Spark friends who have helped me so much on this journey! !




Read More About LYNCHD05 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 10)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"








(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 6.2  over
10
5
0
-5
-10
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
  • v NANASUEH
    I appreciate and look forward to your stopping by on my blogs each day. It's a treat to see your notes. Hope you are well and safe.
    Sue

    emoticon
    30 days ago
  • v BESSHAILE
    I hope you can find the inspiration to start your baby step program too - but honey - heal that hand first. mild exercise I'm sure will be good for it - but strenuous - ouch.

    I haven't been in my gym either - and haven't really been able to decide if I want to keep the membership or lit it drop - it's just far enough away that it doesn't work with my routine. I will see how I do this fall and maybe make a decision in January.

    anyway - thank you dear heart - for the bloglove
    31 days ago
  • v PHEBESS
    Your one-finger typing is getting better! How is the hand feeling, are you still having much pain?

    DH bought eggs, but never cooked any - I offered to make scrambled eggs or an omelette for him, he said no thanks. Today at least he boiled some of them - but I think he just can't get it together to do much cooking, and doesn't want to bother me although I've said I'll cook his stuff for him if he wants. He's always been a big strong guy, so never even thought about decent nutrition, only his weight. I truly don't understand it, but maybe it's just a guy thing.

    Oh, they grow Gravensteins in Whatcom County, outside B'ham - they're a medium to large apple, solid flesh, sweet with a slightly tart taste, and juicy. Good cooking apple as well as eating - great for piece because being solid, they don't cook into mush the way some softer apple do. Red but often with little white specks or sometimes almost stripes in the skin - very similar to Gala apples but bigger and a little more solid. Once the border opens, you may be able to find them in B'ham - I'm thinking Haggens has them in the fall.


    31 days ago
  • v PHEBESS
    My DH is terrible at dishwashing. I used to hand things back to him and tell him it didn't pass quality control. At least he'd laugh and re-wash it instead of getting made. But yeah, I think they don't see dirt the same way we do.

    32 days ago
  • v WATERMELLEN
    Mouse next to the elephant (and donkey): that's us!! I'm sure we're both paying attention to Canadian politics too . . . and we're not a perfect country by any means. But: despite the very real issues here -- WE, prorogation, lots more -- I am on the whole really grateful for our peace, order and good government.
    33 days ago
Member Comments (1042):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>