100-249 SparkPoints 211
See this image larger
October 2016

See this image larger

See this image larger
My friend Shaine & I right before our first 8k on March 17, 2012!


Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with RUNHAPPEE
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I'm Heather. I'm 35, from Virginia Beach, VA. I'm a mom to 2 amazing girls, ages 13 and 14. My weight has always been an issue in my life as long as I can remember. Whether it was being a young girl worried about gaining a few pounds or going through my teenage years with an eating disorder to being on an endless roller coaster weight wise in adulthood. I have dealt with multiple health issues for many years which in part has contributed to the difficulty to lose and even sometimes led to me gaining, at one point to over 236 lbs on my 5'2 frame. In January 2012 my best friend and I signed up for the Shamrock 8k as a way to motivate ourselves to get out and train. I started having trouble just walking a mile to completing several races, including 4 half marathons in the years since. I've had ups and downs, setbacks and illnesses, but running/walking has been a passion of mine since the moment I crossed that first finish line. As of February 2018, I'm training for another 8k in March and my 5th half marathon in October. I hope to motivate and push myself and get back into training and doing races regularly again, and maybe one day running a full marathon.

Member Since: 1/15/2008

Fitness Minutes: 34,358

My Goals:
Getting healthy and fit, hopefully alleviating if not eliminating some of the health problems I've been dealing with. I'd like to live a long and happy life with no or at least minimal health scares along the way. To be able to run a whole mile without stopping or slowing to a walk. I'd like to complete a half marathon in under 3 hours. And hopefully if my body doesn't hate me after all that, train and complete my first full marathon.

My Program:
Trying to stay as active as I'm able due to injuries/health issues. Being consistent and getting into a habit of working out, moving around everyday. Slowly wean myself or at least decrease my intake of sugar, especially sodas and white breads. Eliminate fried and/or fast food from my diet. Try to get in the habit of drinking more water. Trying to be more consistent with my medications, especially my thyroid medicine.

Personal Information:
I'm a single mom to 2 girls, ages 13 and 14. Multiple health issues, including Fibromyalgia, Bipolar Disorder, Anxiety, ADD, prediabetes, carpal tunnel syndrome, chronic migraines, plantar fasciitis, back/spinal problems, heart condition/murmur, multiple cysts in sinuses, and severe allergies..

Other Information:
Major bookworm. Love to read about history, especially World War II and Civil War. Writing/journaling. DIY crafts. Interior decorating and design. A little OCD about organizing, decluttering, cleaning. Always in the middle of a project or 12.

Read More About RUNHAPPEE - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 9)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 0.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (138):  << First< Previous262728