60,000-79,999 SparkPoints 63,397
go to goodies page
Happy Face
go to goodies page
Picnic Basket
go to goodies page

Interact with HARRIET8AL
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am a work in Progress.

I'm a midlife wife, mother, RN, who likes to stay active and wants to keep it that way for the rest of my life. ( I WROTE THAT 14 YEARS AGO WHEN I STARTED SPARKPEOPLE. NO LONGER MIDLIFE, I'M OLD ENOUGH TO GET THE SENIOR DISCOUNT AT THE LOCAL GROCER, LOL ) Have been overweight for 32+ years. I love dogs and have a nine year old Bichon Frise named Linus who likes to walk/run then plop down until I carry him. Last year, Linus was diagnosed with type one diabetes so walking him is more important than ever! My husband has been working from home during the pandemic so he is assisting in walking our Pup and it helps my DH to get out of the house- LOL

In the past decade I have been diagnosed with autoimmune disease (unspecified) which has affected my thyroid and parathyroid, suppressed my immunity (low white count), made me lactose intolerant, gave me dry eye and contributed to arthritis in various joints particularly my knees and shoulders. I had my thyroid and one parathyroid removed in 2015 and have since stabilized my metabolism with medication.

I'm very lucky to be able to continue to exercise by walking with Linus although a bit more slowly. I love to pedal my electric bicycle around the neighborhood and now that I am fully vaccinated against Covie-19, I have headed back to my gym for strength training and the pool where I Dawggie paddle around to my heart's content. I still wear a mask as a precaution, even in the pool !!

On April 3rd, 2021, I will be taking off with my team, The Spirited Underdawgs in the 5% Spring Challenge. We will be trying to lose 5% of our body weight in 8 weeks. Spring Time is my time to succeed :-)

On June 19th, 2021, I will be taking off with my team, The Spirited Underdawgs, in the 5% Summer Challenge. The final Challenge on Sparkpeople but hopefully we will find a new home for future challenges. I'm going to buckle down to make this last one on Sparks a success!

Member Since: 8/24/2007

Fitness Minutes: 125,253

My Goals:

1) Find the right balance to Nourish my body, heart and soul!

2) To stay active and live a healthy lifestyle.

3) To set a good example for my family and loved ones.

4) To encourage my family and loved ones in their own goals and to help them along the way.

5) To lose weight while maintaining lean body mass (i.e. muscle and bone density)

6) To monitor my TSH, T4, Calcium and parathyroid hormone levels. Maintain the proper dose of medication so that I have energy and a clear head.

7) To stay as active as possible despite my arthritis.

My Program:

I do solemnly pledge:
that I will do my best to eat healthy and within my calorie range,
that I will exercise to the best of my ability,
that I will watch my portions and avoid mindless eating,
that I will avoid or limit unhealthy foods,
that I will try to get enough sleep,
that I will stretch myself out of my comfort zone,
that I will always try to make healthy choices even when stressed,
that if I slip, I will get back on track with the very next opportunity,
that I will keep a CAN DO attitude, or ask for Help,
and that I will support my fellow pack mates

Because I am an UnderDawg
And every UnderDawg has the heart of a hero.

So Help me Spark People

I have to make it simple. My life is too complex already.

1)Stay within calorie range. 5-6 freggies, 100 grams lean protein, whole grains as much as possible, monitor calcium intake, stay away from added sugar and excess sodium.

2) Exercise

Personal Information:
Nature inspires me.

Other Information:
I love hiking, biking with my electric bike, kayaking or just getting outside to walk in the park. Have been hampered for a couple of years with knee arthritis and arthritic changes throughout my body so I am moving much more slowly but still moving!

I am a retired RN who volunteers by visiting the elderly residents of local Assisted Livings and Nursing Facilities just chatting and praying with them. My visits have been on hold during the pandemic so I have been mailing cards to my elderly friends. During the pandemic, I have been trying to teach myself crochet, doing bible study and attending Zoom classes with the Institute for Learning in Retirement which is sponsored by a local college.

I am married to a wonderful man for 35 years and have 2 adult daughters who are out on their own. But I am not an empty nester.. I have Linus, the perpetual baby of the family- LOL

Read More About HARRIET8AL - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 14)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 40.2 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (558):  123Next >Last >>