See this image larger
My husband and I with the beautiful City of Jerusalem behind us

See this image larger
Our grandson Jacob, born October 14th of this year.

See this image larger
My husband & I in the City of Lima, Peru, where we do mission work (the Pacific Ocean in background)

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Stuffed Animal
go to goodies page
Flower Pot

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with NORMANELL14
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi everyone,

I am a 66 year old living in Mississippi with my husband of 47 years. We have two grown children and two grandsons. I am wanting to do something to get out of the rut I'm in and am hoping that Sparkpeople will help me. Can't tell you how many diets I 've been on through the years but most very unsuccessful. What I really need to do is get off the "feast or famine" treadmill that I've been riding for way too long. In fact this time I'm determined to not make this a diet but rather a lifestyle. Any and all help from other fellow strugglers will be sincerely appreciated.

Member Since: 1/1/2008

Fitness Minutes: 12,482

My Goals:
To read the Bible through within one year by reading scripture each day - finished reading all the way through once on 10/30/08

To memorize one key passage of the Bible per week

To walk in a 5K or 10K walk sometime this year

To lose a total of 12 pounds - reached 2/4/08

To lose a total of 22 pounds - reached 3/24/08

To lose a total of 32 pounds - reached 5/9/08

To lose a total of 42 pounds - reached 7/23/08

To lose a total of 52 pounds - reached 9/5/08

To lose a total of 62 pounds

To lose a total of 72 pounds

To lose a total of 77 pounds!!!!!

My Program:
Daily food journal

Exercise at least 3 X a week at Curves

Try to walk 3 X a week

Drink 8 glasses of water daily

Stay within calorie limits per SP

Personal Information:
I'm 61 years old, live in Mississippi, have been married for 43 years, 2 grown children (one a family doctor and the other a high school English teacher); one grandchild on the way in October!

Other Information:
Love to travel, grow flowers, birdwatching, photography

Favorite music - Southern Gospel; classical; traditional Christian music; broadway music; music by Frank Sinatra, Andy Williams, etc.

Favorite movies - The Inn of 6th Happiness; The Princess Bride; Amazing Grace; National Treasure

Read More About NORMANELL14 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 21)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 22.4 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (60):  123Next >Last >>