500,000-749,999 SparkPoints 595,989
See this image larger
The best Dad ever!

See this image larger
Daisy in her new sweater

See this image larger
My beautiful children, children-in-law, and grandchildren.

go to goodies page
Gold Medal
Fitness Pals
go to goodies page
Fitness Pals
go to goodies page

Interact with PACEKA1
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Hi, I'm Kathy. I have been a member of the SparkPeople community since January 2015 and have lost 40 pounds so far. I enjoy my daily visits to SparkPeople and have made so many great friends. I have found the support and encouragement on this site to be stronger than anything I have ever experienced before.

I have not yet met my overall weight goal but at this time I am more focused on increasing my muscle mass while decreasing my body fat. So while my weight stays relatively the same, my clothes are fitting better and I am able to do so much more.

I will be the Weight Leader for the upcoming the 5% Fall Challenge with the Teddy Bear team. I'm ready to push myself a little harder this Summer. I have also taken on the responsibility of the EL for the WL leader. I'm not sure what that all entails but I'm looking forward to this being a more active challenge for me.

My exercise plan includes:

- Walking Daisy every morning, unless it's raining or below 10 degrees.

- yoga, general stretching, and foam rolling every evening to give myself some relaxation at the end of the day.

- going to the gym a minimum 3 x/week for classes - Pilates Reformer, Life Barre, and Mat Pilates. I'm hoping to add a 4th class - Root Yoga; and I'd like to try the F.I.T class on Saturday mornings and Zumba on Thursday evenings. I will also spend 10 minutes of Cardio and 20 - 30 minutes on the strength equipment at least twice a week.

- on non-gym days, add one video exercise tape from either Jessica Smith TV or Leslie Sansome DVD's and at least 15 minutes on the stationary Bike.

I will plan healthy meals a week in advance using non-processed foods and buying organic whenever possible. I want to try a new recipe every other week and also include fish in my meals once a week. I am also learning to balance my nutritional needs to what my body seems to need.

Last, I am going to print this out and hang it in front of my computer as a reminder to myself to stay the course!

Member Since: 1/7/2014

Fitness Minutes: 209,230

My Goals:
#1 - Cook healthier foods and find recipes that are both nutritious and relatively easy to make - cooking is not one of my favorite things to do.

#2 - Build strength in my arms and legs so I can start hiking and continue to take my daily walks with Daisy

#3 - Target weight goal for the last quarter of 2018 is to loose 10 pounds while continuing to increase my muscle mass by 3 pounds.

#4 - Do a deep cleaning and de-cluttering of each room in my home, focusing on one room per week beginning September 9th.

My Program:
Daisy and I walk every morning for 1 - 2 miles and will continue that as long as the weather holds. I will work at being more deliberate and consistent with my diet and exercise program. I am making the commitment to take class at Lifetime Fitness 3 times each week: my favorites are Life Barre, Pilates (both on the Reformer and on the Mat), and Root Yoga. I am also fitting in 20 - 30 minutes on the strength equipment 2 times per week. I hope to try out the Zumba class and F.I.T. which is a cardio / strength combination.

Personal Information:
I live in Champlin, MN and am the mother of 5 adult children; 3 girls and twin boys. I also have 1 step son and together we have 5 grandchildren with a new little grandson who should be arriving any time now. I have been married to my second husband, Tom, for 23 years and he has been a great support to me as I follow this weight loss journey.

Then there's my Best Friend Daisy - a spunky little Cocker Spaniel / Golden Retriever mix who keeps me on my toes . We also have Sheba, the last surviving cat of 4 that I inherited when my mother passed away.

Other Information:
I love to knit but have cut back on that in order to be more active. I've tried knitting while walking on the treadmill but it doesn't work very well. I have gotten more and more interested in reading rather than watching TV, which was my previous quiet activity. In 2017 I have read all 30 of my goal of 30 books per year - in 2018 I'd increased that to 36 books but I doubt I'll make my goal. It seems when a person spends so much time with physical activity there is less time for reading, but right now I'm okay with that! My son has published three historical fiction books about the Minnesota/Dakota Indian uprisings in the mid-1800's, reading all three is on my bucket list (History is not my passion).

Last year I had the trip of my life - my youngest son (by 19 minutes) took me to Norway for 12 days and it was the most amazing experience I've ever had. We even met some distant relatives and were welcomed like family! Right now I'm working hard on trying to put together

Read More About PACEKA1 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 7)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 13.4 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (4703):  << First< Previous939940941