40,000-49,999 SparkPoints 45,130
See this image larger
A personal project to allow me to appreciate my muscles & my fitness July '07

See this image larger
Yeah, it's me 6/1/07

See this image larger
With 2 of my sisters 12/07

go to goodies page
Dark Chocolate
go to goodies page
High Five
go to goodies page
Joel Fuhrman's ...

SONJA.RIVERGIRL is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Fitness Tracker
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am outgoing and athletic. I started working out regularly 5 years ago, after the birth of my second son. It's all about a healthy lifestyle, feeling great, feeling confident and setting a good example for others around me.

I originally got started using the Body for Life program. The book is a great reference that really simplifies things so that it is easy to follow, helps you set goals for sticking with it and create healthy habits.

I have never been, nor will I be, on a diet. Diets are temporary and negative. Making healthy choices is lifelong and something positive you can be proud of.

Spark People has been a great resource for me. I did not have a lot of weight to lose. However, I have always been a bit mystified at how much I should be eating. I am 5' 10.5" and many of the "average woman" recommendations aren't quite right for me. Now, I really feel like I have the information and resources I need to stay on target. It is incredibly empowering.

Member Since: 2/22/2007

Fitness Minutes: 35,682

My Goals:
I started working out 5 years ago & set and achieved several goals. My current goals are similar, but are now more about maintenance. My current goals are as follows:

*Maintain my level of fitness, or improve it by increasing cardio fitness levels & continuing to improve muscle definition
*Continue to lead a healthy lifestyle

An original goal that remains:
*Set a great example for my kids: They already value being healthy, exercising & good food choices
What keeps me going: I've had friends & family work out, lose weight & look great...then they stop. They gain weight and are/were miserable. I don't ever, ever want to do that...I won't stop, for even a week!

My Program:
Cardio 2x/wk...35-40 minutes running intervals

Weight lifting 2x/wk

Plus any other opportunities to have fun and get some exercise.

Favorite site for great ab exercises:

Personal Information:
Age: Over 40 :)

Body Fat: 20.5% (as of 7/9)

Live in greater St. Paul/Minneapolis area

Two children

Other Information:
FAVORITE MUSIC WHEN I WORK OUT: Reggaeton (latin dance/club music).
FAVORITE FOOD that FILLS ME UP & is a HEALTHY CHOICE: spaghetti squash w/lowfat spaghetti sauce & parmesan
FAVORITE SWEET TREAT: Small York peppermint patty

Read More About SONJA.RIVERGIRL - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 27)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 166.2 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (588):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>