go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Relaxation Music
go to goodies page
Thank You Card

Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with YCOOLIO
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

I'm a 48 year old woman, with two children, one still living at home, but in his senior year in high school, so I'm getting really ready for empty nest syndrome. I'm also single, and have been for a while, but I date regularly. I just haven't been as enthusiastic about my physical fitness program in the last few years and as a result, the pounds have really been coming on. I used to be in excellent condition but now, it's so much harder to believe I can do anything like what I used to do. I read a lot about nutrition and fitness, but I'm not doing much about any of it. I know what to do, I've done it before, but my motivation is lacking. I know I would feel a ton more confident and energetic if I just got down to it, but I need some help.

Member Since: 11/5/2011

Fitness Minutes: 6,316

My Goals:
Size 4, 120's -- this is what I have been for most of my adult life, before beer replaced workouts as my main recreational activity about 3 years ago.
Focus on reshaping my body -- the numbers are less important, I want to feel good and look good in clothes. Period.

My Program:
Turn Up the Heat: A program by Philip Goglia. I found a modified version of this a few years ago in Oxygen Magazine and it worked for me. One of the few times a formal diet ever worked. Now, armed with better information, I'm willing to do the whole 12 week plus program.

Lift 3 days a week: I know this works for me. I have a series of workout plans that will get me through the next six months, now that I have a base.

Yoga is key -- the more I do it and read about it, the more I recognize that yoga needs to be a bigger part of my life heading into my 50's. I'll aim for 2 - 3 classes a week which is what I'm doing now.

Outdoor adventures: Since winter is a part of my life between 5-6 months out of the year, it's time I give in a realize that I can't stay inside for that long without becoming depressed. I aim to get outside for exercise at least 3 days a week. I love to run, hike, snowshoe! It's all about layers

Personal Information:
I live in Pittsburgh. I'm an active single and have been for 12 years. I have two kids, one 20 year old girl who is in school in Minnesota (too far away!), and a boy who is a senior in high school. I work full time at an executive post with the city in a job that I love to death.

Other Information:
I realize now that no matter how difficult it seems to meet my goals, no obstacles exist that don't first get conquered in my mind. If I believe in myself, and treat myself with love and respect, there are no doors that aren't open to me. I am willing to commit to myself as the highest priority and to appreciate the life that I've been given and to take care of the body I am blessed to have.

Read More About YCOOLIO - Profile Information moved here.

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 150.6 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (16):  123Next >Last >>